“When one door …

“When one door closes another door opens; but we often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door that we do not see the ones which open for us.”
-Alexander Graham Bell

It seems a little trite to start my blog off with a quote, but then this quote may sum up all the feelings I have had over the last month. I thought I had found a great company to work for, a place where my creativity and talent would flourish exponentially. Instead, I found myself being dragged down and pinned to one job and one job only. As I watched the door to the company that I had originally fallen in love close, I did something unexpected. Instead of dwelling, and feeling dejected, I turned around to see another door fly open and was beckoned to it by a bright light that led me out of the darkness that was slowly creeping into my life.

It was that moment I decided that I would never let another person dictate my job description. For the last few weeks I have worked tirelessly to brand myself anew. This time as a Freelance Social Media and Public Relations Professional, instead of just another Graduate school graduate looking for a job.

When I saw this quote, I felt that it summarized everything I had yet to vocalize, and though I may fail, and though the simple thought of failure is terrifying, I refuse to let that fear keep me from exploring what is on the other side of this new and exciting door.

~Sara E. Kaplan

Leave a Reply

