Balancing act

I remember my parents always telling me that life was a balancing act. I never really understood it until the past few months. I guess I was spoiled by the fact that I never really had to work that hard other than in school. My parents were cool enough to always support me when I needed to focus on school and could not work. Do not take this as I never worked, trust me I worked as much as I could, but when you are going to school for two different majors, two minors and then go into graduate school where you end up teaching at the university (for a small amount of pay each semester), a full time job just sometimes is not an option. 

Upon leaving graduate school, I thought it would be easier with school out of the picture. I was done, I was out and I no longer had to worry about if I read the 100 pages my professor assigned for that week, or if I had a test or paper due that week. How hard could work be with the headache of school out of the picture? Yeah, I was definitely wrong about that. 

I wasn’t even out of graduate school when I met Jesse, the boy of my dreams. We dated for 1 month and 1 week and he asked me to marry him, a year later I am in the midst of planning a wedding, working fourteen hour days, writing my first novel, cooking dinner most nights for him and trying to find time to play with our two adorable dogs. I can’t remember the last time I worked a normal 40hr, 5 day work week.

I probably put in a good 80-90 hours of work each week between my jobs. Freelance is NOT easy. It is so up and down that it can be impossible to keep up with my half of the bills and pay for a wedding. Solution to this problem? Take on a supposed easy job that would allow me plenty of time to do my other work while earning a steady paycheck. Enter, nannying. How terrible could that be? I have to say, the kids are sweet and I adore them, even love them. The parents are a headache, demanding and just do not pay attention to half the things I say most of the time. If the mother had her way, I would literally live at their house and would not have my own family to attend to. I do have a high respect for anyone who does do live-in nannying. Doing live-out takes a huge chunk of my day away that I wish I could be spending with my family. Live-in nannies I feel are literally giving up their own lives to do their job. 

My novel is making progress, which is good, but at the same time, if I could I would spend the whole day laying in the most comfortable place in my house or by the pool writing. Maybe I will get to that point where I am literally paid to write books. That is a dream come true, but let us face it, the odds of me being the next J.K. Rowling is pretty slim. Do I want to publish my book? Absolutely! It would be a dream come true! I’ve wanted to be an author since I was little, but I know it is a long shot. 

My freelance work is tedious at times. I do Digital Media PR. Basically I control company social media pages. I run ads, write posts, write blogs, maintain websites and interact with fans on behalf of the company. Which also means my computer is constantly dinging at me and I constantly have people who want questions answered, responses to comments and retweets. That is not even going into the meetings, proposal writing and the best part about any sales driven job, the rejection. I do not even react much anymore when a potential clients decides to pass me by for a giant corporation. 

Then there is my family. I have an amazing fiance who understands that I am only doing this all until I am really established in the digital media PR world. Does that mean he doesn’t miss me when I do three overnights in a row at my nanny job because the parents are both in Europe for work? No, he misses me terribly, but he allows me to do my job and earn my paycheck. I am not sure my dogs are as understanding. I have an amazing three year old Husky/Chow mix that is my entire world. I have had that dog since he was just three weeks old and to him, I am god. My other dog is a two year old pomeranian mix that my fiance and I adopted a year ago. Rescue dogs are hard, they don’t fully trust you all the time and when I go missing for days you can bet my dogs know it. 

Somehow in all the chaos I find time for me. The ten minutes I spend writing blogs, or doing my morning yoga is pretty much what I live for. My fiance and I have taken to sitting on the balcony off our master bedroom and drinking our morning coffee out there before I go to work and he rests up for work (he works nights). It is a crazy life, and I would in no way say I have it all balanced out all the time, but that is how life is I guess. No matter how hard you try one part of your life will always push everything else out of balance, and once you get that figured out another aspect of life is pushing you over the edge. There are always those small moments, nanoseconds really, when everything balances and comes together and you find yourself in pure bliss. I call these moments, bed time. 

 

~~SKG 

Leave a Reply

